Our January  13th CIG meeting at the IU was in my opinion, a little stressful. We had designed our survey in November and I distributed it to all my classes in early December. I shared the results with the group at the December meeting. At that January meeting, I felt that we were still unsure of what we were trying to do with our classes regarding motivation and effort in regarding student’s practicing outside of the classroom to improve their music and art. It is just frustrating sometimes to get the students to get the required work done for class, especially sketchbooks in Drawing class and definitiely grades are not a motivating factor! Students that have incredible drawing skills will fail drawing 1 because they refuse to do a sketchbook which is part of the course requirement. We spent the meeting talking about the survey, putting it into our wikipages and discussing our final project.

 

