In the past my 5th grade ceramic lesson an pottery would be sequenced as follows: Acoma pottery video, next week use the coiling technique to make a bowl, glaze the pottery during the next two classes. Since the lesson takes a long time, I would hurry them and give them one week to make the pottery. This year I wanted to give them more time to create. I purposely referred to the video and did not do a demo. The students took their clay and got started. Many questions ensued. How do you roll the coil? How do you keep it from caving in? Can it get bigger? Can I be done? I refused to make a pot for any student, as the class drew to a close some of the students realized that their pottery was caving. To their amazement I said that it was fine and that they could start over next week. Some of the pots keep growing and were shaped very nicely. As the pots dried, the larger heavier ones cracked so they have to start again. They were very excited to come in at recess to make a new pot. Time for this lesson is so valuable. They let me know that they all needed different time to gain the skill need to do this pottery.
When I look back at the construction process, the students really gained a great perspective by watching Lucy Lewis in the video. Their comments and attentiveness to the video impressed me. Next week they will glaze their de

