My idea for my independent learning project for my Communications class came from: http://www.edutopia.org/living-legends-oral-history-projects-bring-core-subjects-to-life

This article is about creating oral history interviews. I asked my new substitute if he was up to trying to start my project because I hope to be back in the classroom soon.  Being a star, he was excited about my ideas. The first step is to have the students review the results of the survey, see what everyone was interested in doing. Then we need to get the students to choose what they would like to do for the oral history project. They will need to choose a topic, a method of presentation, independently!

Again, I really like the idea of interviews. They can interview kids who lived in other states, different school districts, people who had a bad experience and lived better because of it.  Key is finding someone they feel comfortable interviewing and learning how to ask open-ended questions. Maybe we can find some interviews on YouTube -good and bad. I really wish they would consider older family members-get family histories. Some kids don’t have grandparents. Parents who have been incarcerated would be great!  I’m excited:)

