I have given my students an inquiry about harmonization. Choir students are used to hearing & learning their parts, then memorizing them for a performance. So we had our first harmonization playground. I did a brief warmup having my students sing in 3rds, moving up and down sometimes together and sometimes moving in opposite directions. My students absolutely thought I was nuts. I chose a pop song and projected the words onto a screen, but told them they didn’t need to sing the words- simply singing Oo would be fine. You can sing anything but not the melody. At first they sat and looked at me like I had a growth coming out of my head. I told them to move to somewhere in the room where they could be comfortable. I started singing  and turned up the music. As they started “Playing” with the notes, we had some strange sounds. But by the end of the second time through the song students were catching on and harmonizing. Then they sang louder. We tried with new pop songs, their was laughter and a few “I did it”‘s Now they have an assignment to work with 1-2 other students to harmonize their own chosen song. The rest of class they had their harmonization playground. It was a fun class.

