The skype meeting that our group held on December 1st was very helpful to me.  I was really unsure about how to start inquiry in my classroom.  Brian suggested that I just go with what I would typically teach at that time of year or what I had planned next.  So next I was going to teach stop motion animation.  James questioned me about how I typically do it and how could I do this differently.  How could a partial video created by one group relate to another?  Below I posted what I did.

Typically when I introduce stop motion animation to my students, I do it a pretty structured format.  I usually give a brief history and then move onto showing how to use the software and give a demonstration of animating.  Next, I may have the kids come up in groups to try it out.  Then, I have the movie structured that they will create.  So I am trying to steer away from this structured format.  This is how it is happening this time around-showed a  3 minute video of a Gumby based claymation.  This claymation did not include detailed characters such as Gumby or Pokey.  My students were to work in groups to create a storyboard of a potential claymation that they may create.  They had to keep in mind that their groups work must relate to each others.  How could we do that?  The students actually really surprised me.  This was exciting!  They came up with ideas for their storyboard.  Next, each group worked with another group to discuss if they felt each storyboard would relate when put all together into one movie.  They also went beyond this “working together”… and actually went on there own to say things like, “how will you angle the camera if you want this piece of clay to look like it is floating in the air”.  They conducted the inquiry on their own.  This was a huge breakthrough for me.

