Based on this statement from http://www.cii.illinois.edu/InquiryPage/ :

 

 
Based on John Dewey‘s philosophy that education begins with the curiosity of the learner, we use a spiral path of inquiry: asking questions, investigating solutions, creating new knowledge as we gather information, discussing our discoveries and experiences, and reflecting on our new-found knowledge

I can’t help but focus on the quote, “education begins with the curiosity of the learner.”  My job from this moment is to discover what my students are curious about. This will drive my curriculum for my communications class for the new 9 weeks beginning when I get back to the classroom.  I have decided to make a survey that my substitute can give to my social studies students. These students will represent the 7th grade student body of my district. I will develop questions to help me discover what my students will use in the path of inquiry.

 

