For my second reading I chose to read “The Three Artistic Processes: Paths to Life Long 21st Century Skills through Music.” I found this article to be extremely helpful  and relevant to my work in my CIG this year. The article discusses taking the subject of music and by using the three artistic processes an educator can have a clear way of  “organizing standards-based music teaching and assessment as well as a vision of the musically educated student. ” The model discusses the three artistic processes being” Comprehensive, Practical and Authentic. Out of these three it is the authentic that peeks my interest the most.

Authentic– The processes are those that real artists use when Creating, Performing and Responding to music and the other arts.”

After reading this statement I realized that I truly wanted to embrace this idea, and then I had to ask my self  “is this something that is happening in my classroom, or is this something that I am working towards?” After reflecting for a while I came to the conclusion that it is something that is happening in my classroom, but it is something that my students and I are trying to make stronger.  I feel that the article really began to hit home when I read this statement:

” The ultimate goal of music education is to empower our students to continue active musical involvement as adults.  Since the ability to carry out the steps in the Three Artistic Processes is what makes a person a musician, the ‘mission’ of every music teacher should be to help all students learn to carry out each of those processes independently.

Conversely,the major reason that so many students set aside their instruments or vocal skills after graduation is because their music instruction has been primarily teacher-centered…”

This is something I have always wanted for my classroom. To not make it about me teaching them, but about them learning. They begin to gradually assume musical responsibility and ownership. I find making my classroom more student-centered and leaning more using inquiry has been somewhat difficult and I now realize that it is because I have not necessarily re-enforced the authentic process with my students on a consistent enough basis. I find it interesting that as a musician this is a process I continuously engage in, but rarely ever encourage my students.

The reading also discusses how the three artistic Processes also encourage 21-century thinking skill including critical thinking, creativity, communication and collaboration. The more I think about this section the more I feel that it relates directly to our inquiry. These skills are something that I find I push my students in constantly. However, I have now generated some new questions that I will reflect about later, based on these skills and how they effect the inquiry process.

