I found the article “Creativity and Imagination: Tool for teaching Artist Inquiry” the most interesting choice to blog about. Webster’s dictionary defines METAPHOR as the following: a figure or speech in which a word or phrase literally denoting one kind of object or idea is used in place of another to suggest a likeness or analogy between them (as in drowning in money); broadly : figurative language

I have used symbols and metaphor to promote creative designs for original art production in the past. I currently do project with my 8th graders I call “Exercise in Thought.” In the particular project I have the students pick a word (any word school appropriate) write down on the handout I ask the students to tell me the (color, smell, taste, sound, texture, shape, object, animal, food, drink, clothing, place setting, weather, music, painting, literary work) of that word or something closely related for the use of metaphor for art production. I also tried this exercise when I taught elementary as a long term sub for a year. I really enjoyed this time before I got a full time position in the high school. My perception was that the younger children didn’t really know what they couldn’t do nor had no fear of failure. It seems to me that as some of the same students got older some of the internal creative powers they possessed were gone or at least diminished.

My main interest was the articles’ hierarchy of the four levels of creative thinking: fluency, flexibility, originality, and elaboration. I think these would be good starting point while encouraging original art. This theoretical model provides a framework that I plan to use with the students. However I do not think this is the be all end all of successful art production.
I plan on using Siegsmund’s Visual Cycle of Inquiry in future projects. I think it would stimulate student thinking starting with perception /fluency >conception/originality and elaboration >expression>reflection.

In keeping with my interest and promotion in all things Joseph Campbell I’ll close with this…

“But when you understand a metaphor — you know, just high school grammar language — when you interpret the metaphor in terms of the denotation instead of the connotation, you’ve lost the message. That’s like going into a restaurant and reading the menu and deciding what you’re going to eat, and you eat that part of the menu. The menu is a reference to something transcendent of that piece of paper.” – Joseph Campbell

