What “problems” do you encounter with your students that could stimulate a shared inquiry as an active quest?

I have noticed over the few years that I have been teaching that students often prefer being told what to do and how to do it without having an original idea or opinion. They want to do what I want them to do. Students have difficulty coming up with their own ideas, answers, techniques, and opinions of art. They will ask me, what do I do next? Is this how you want me to do it? Is this finished? Is this good? Which is fine, of course I am here to guide them and to help them understand, but what inquiry will help them do is break out of that shell and discover these answers. It will make a much more meaningful learning experience and they will have a better understanding of what they are doing, whatever the project may be. The arts are about experimenting and thinking outside of the box, and there is not always a clear-cut answer like the students are seeking.

A good start to this shared inquiry could simply be, What makes our artwork successful? So instead of seeking answers from the teacher, they can discuss ideas and techniques to make successful artwork. They may learn that they share the similar difficulties with a particular assignment and share new ideas of overcoming these difficulties.

